Wimbledon 2011 Fourth Round Draw – Last 16

Wimbledon 2011 DrawWimbledon 2011 enters it’s second week and we are down to the last 16. The big 4 have all made it through to the 4th round, though many of the top seeds and outside bets have no been so lucky.

The third round saw 5th seed Robin Soderling and 8th seed Andy Roddick eliminated. On Friday Andy Roddick was beaten in straight sets by Feliciano Lopez and Robin Soderling suffered a similar fate on Saturday at the hands of Australian qualifier Bernard Tomic.

Andy Roddick had been in Andy Murray’s quarter and another seed from the Scot’s quarter, 9th seed Gael Monfils was also knocked out on Saturday by Poland’s Lukasz Kubot.

All of the men’s 4th round matches are scheduled to be played on Monday. Matcth of the day will see efending champion Rafael Nadal will take on Juan Martin Del Potro. The Argentine continues his recovery from injury, but the former world number 5 and US Open champion, will present a tough test for the world number 1. Even if Rafa wins that match, the draw does not get any easier for the Spaniard as he will next face the winner of 10th seed Mardy Fish and last year’s finalist Tomas Berdych.

Also in the top half of the draw, Andy Murray will face Richard Gasquet in what will probably be the most watched match so far, it’s a repeat of the 2008 4th round match when Murray came from 2 sets and break down to win in 5 sets. The winner of that match will face the winner the Lukasz Kubot vs Feliciano Lopez, where both players are unseeded.

This years favourite Roger Federer faces 18th seed Mikhail Youzhny and world number 2, Novak Djokovic faces 19th seed Michael Llodra. In a  non-seeded affair qualifier Bernard Tomic (AUS) faces Xavier Malisse (BEL) and completing the bottom half of the draw 7th seed David Ferrer takes on Jo-Wilfried Tsonga.

2011 Wimbledon – 4th round – Last 16
[1] Rafael Nadal (ESP)
[24] Juan Martin Del Potro (ARG)
[10] Mardy Fish (USA)
[6] Tomas Berdych (CZE)
[4] Andy Murray (GBR)
[17] Richard Gasquet (FRA)
Lukasz Kubot (POL)
Feliciano Lopez (ESP)
[7] David Ferrer (ESP)
[12] Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA)
[18] Mikhail Youzhny (RUS)
[3] Roger Federer (SUI)
(Q) Bernard Tomic (AUS)
Xavier Malisse (BEL)
[19] Michael Llodra (FRA)
[2] Novak Djokovic (SRB)