Wimbledon 2009 – Hutchins & Huss Seeded 16th

Wimbledon 2009The Anglo-Aussie duo of Ross Hutchins and Stephen Huss have been awarded the 16th and final seed for the men’s doubles event at the 2009 Wimbledon Championships which start on Monday.

They now await the draw for the doubles which will be made on Friday, being a seed means they will avoid playing one the top regular teams till later in the event, however in doubles there is always a chance of getting a hard first round when the top singles player decide to play.

Hutchins and Huss have been playing regularly now since April 2008, though the duo do occasionally switch partners, Hutchins has played a few matches with Andy Murray as well as other Brits.

The duo won their first team ATP title at the China Open in Beijing after defeating No. 3 seeds Ashley Fisher and Bobby Reynolds 7-5, 6-4 in the final, they also reached the final together in Lyon and Moscow and the semi- finals Marseille and San Hose.

Though they have posted some good results together, Huss’s best performance was when he partnered fellow Aussie Ashley Fisher to reach the final of the Miami Masters, an ATP World Tour Masters 1000 event. Hutchins partner another Aussie Jordan Kerr to reach the quarters that week and the masters event before, Indian wells he partnered Andy Murray and again made the quarter finals.

Seed Player 1 Player 2 Current ATP
Team Ranking
1 Bob Bryan (USA) Mike Bryan (USA) 1
2 Daniel Nestor (CAN) Nenad Zimonjic (SRB) 2
3 Lukas Dlouhy (CZE) Leander Paes (IND) 3
4 Mahesh Bhupathi (IND) Mark Knowles (BAH) 4
5 Bruno Soares (BRA) Kevin Ullyett (ZIM) 7
6 Mariusz Fyrstenberg (POL) Marcin Matkowski (POL) 11
7 Max Mirnyi (BLR) Andy Ram (ISR) 6
8 Lukasz Kubot (POL) Oliver Marach (AUT) 5
9 Wesley Moodie (RSA) Dick Norman (BEL) 9
10 Travis Parrott (USA) Filip Polasek (SVK) 13
11 Marcelo Melo (BRA) Andre Sa (BRA) 15
12 Jeff Coetzee (RSA) Jordan Kerr (AUS) 51
13 Frantisek Cermak (CZE) Michal Mertinak (SVK) 8
14 Rik de Voest (RSA) Ashley Fisher (AUS) 32
15 Martin Damm (CZE) Robert Lindstedt (SWE) 10
16 Stephen Huss (AUS) Ross Hutchins (GBR) 25